Ground Water Committee

The Eastern Shore of Virginia Ground Water Committee is a bi-county committee formed in 1990 by Accomack and Northampton Counties to study and plan for ground water protection. The 11-member committee meets monthly and includes elected officials, citizens, and local government staff. The Planning District Commission staffs the committee and a consulting hydrogeologist advises the committee, prepares technical reports, and coordinates with the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality and the USGS.

Chairman John Coker

Vice Chairman Paul Muhly

Committee Members Elaine Meil, Eugene Hampton, Grayson Chesser, Jim Belote, John Coker, John Salm, Daniel Hershey, Taylor Dukes, Charles Kolakowski, Mike Mason

Our Mandate
The committee’s mandate is to “assist local governments and residents of the Eastern Shore in understanding, protecting and managing ground water resources, to maintain a ground water resources protection and management plan, to serve as an educational and informational resource to local governments and residents of the Eastern Shore, and to initiate special studies concerning the protection and management of the Eastern Shore ground water resource.


The Committee meets on the third Tuesday of each month from 10:00am until noon in the A-NPDC Conference Room of the Enterprise Building in Accomac. The Committee does not meet in the month of July or December. The meetings are open to the public, all are welcome.

Next meeting packet available here: GWC Packet DRAFT6.18.2019

Upcoming Eastern Shore Groundwater Related VDEQ-hosted Events

PUBLIC INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING on the draft permits and the permitting process will be held in Accomack on April 30, 2019 at Nandua High School (26350 Lankford Highway, Onley, Virginia 23418) from 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm. Presentation from this event and draft permit information for all applicants included can be found here.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: May 24, 2019 to July 12, 2019

PUBLIC HEARING: Three public hearings will be held. Comments on the draft will be accepted at each hearing.

HEARING 1: Arcadia High School Auditorium, 8210 Lankford Hwy, Oak Hall, VA 23416 on June 24, 2019 beginning at 6 p.m.

HEARING 2: Eastern Shore Community College, Workforce Development Building, 29300 Lankford Hwy, Melfa, VA 23410 on June 25, 2019 beginning at 6 p.m.

HEARING 3: Northampton High School Auditorium,16041 Courthouse Rd, Eastville, VA 23347 on June 26, 2019 beginning at 6 p.m.