Hazard Mitigation Planning

Sign up for Northampton County Citizen Alert with EverBridge

Sign up for Accomack County Community Enrollment with CodeRED

2016 Eastern Shore Hazard Mitigation Plan complete!

The Eastern Shore Hazard Mitigation Plan identifies policies and actions that can be taken over time to reduce losses from natural and hazards, as well as those created by –or helped along – by humans. These preventive actions protect our community – our friends, family, employees, neighbors, business owners, and their properties.  They reduce exposure to risk and curb financial losses.

Past Eastern Shore Hazard Mitigation Plans

2016 Eastern Shore Hazard Mitigation Plan chapters are available independently below, or the entire document can be downloaded, but it is a large file. The Plan will be updated again in 5 years. Please send any feedback, comments, or suggestions to salexander@a-npdc.org or call 757-787-2936 ext. 115. Thank you!

Entire draft full final report: FullHMP2016 (last revised March 30, 2017) (39.4 MB)

  1. Chapter 1 Hazards on the Shore
  2. Chapter 2 Planning Process (revised March 30, 2017)
  3. Chapter 3 Risk Assessment
  4. Chapter 4 High Wind
  5. Chapter 5 Coastal Erosion
  6. Chapter 6 Coastal Flooding
  7. Chapter 7 Stormwater
  8. Chapter 8 The Region
  9. Chapter 9 Accomack County
  10. Chapter 10 Northampton County
  11. Chapter 11 Town of Bloxom
  12. Chapter 12 Town of Cape Charles
  13. Chapter 13 Town of Cheriton
  14. Chapter 14 Town of Chincoteague
  15. Chapter 15 Town of Eastville
  16. Chapter 16 Town of Exmore
  17. Chapter 17 Town of Hallwood
  18. Chapter 18 Town of Keller
  19. Chapter 19 Town of Melfa
  20. Chapter 20 Town of Nassawadox
  21. Chapter 21 Town of Onancock
  22. Chapter 22 Town of Onley
  23. Chapter 23 Town of Parksley
  24. Chapter 24 Town of Saxis
  25. Chapter 25 Town of Tangier
  26. Chapter 26 Wachapreague (revised March 30, 2017)
  27. Chapter 27 Mitigation Action Development (revised March 30, 2017)
  28. Chapter 28 Accomack County Mitigation Strategies (revised March 30, 2017)
  29. Chapter 29 Northampton County Mitigation Strategies (revised March 30, 2017)
  30. Chapter 30 Town of Chincoteague Mitigation Strategies (revised March 30, 2017)
  31. Chapter 31 Mitigation Funding Options


More HMP Background Information

We kicked off the public comment period with a public open house on December 1, 2016. Resources from the open house and the preceding Resilience Training can be found below.

FEMA requires the hazard mitigation plan to be updated every five years. Since there is substantially more data available that at the time of the last update (2011), we have elected to entirely re-write the plan, which is a two-year process. That means we need to start now to have the plans complete and fully adopted by February, 2017. A presentation from the Virginia Department of Emergency Management explaining more about regional hazard mitigation plans can be found here.

Local agencies that participate in creating the plan will be eligible for hazard mitigation grants. Those that don’t, will miss out. Accomack and Northampton Counties, along with the towns of Chincoteague, Tangier, Saxis, Bloxom, Parksley, Onley, Onancock, Melfa, Wachapreague, Keller, Exmore, Nassawadox, Cheriton, and Cape Charles are all participating

The Steering Committee consists of representatives participating counties and towns. Localities that do not adopt the plan will not be eligible for hazard mitigation funding, so steering committee members have voting privileges and have the final say in the plan’s content. However, the plan in developed in concert with a wide range of stakeholders, known as the Planning Council, who are invited to attend all meetings of the Steering Committee and receive the same information as the steering committee.